One And Done

About this time last year, I was hired as the Pregame and Postgame Host on the Columbus Blue Jackets Radio Network.  I was so excited for the opportunity to continue my sportscasting dream while working for a professional sports team.  As it turns out, 2015-16 would be my lone season as CBJ Radio Network host.  Earlier today, I was told that I would not be needed for the upcoming season.

I’ve been riding a wave of emotions since.  Anger and bitterness are not among them.  Not.  At.  All.  This news could have been delivered with a phone call, email, or a form letter on fancy company letterhead, but instead I was called in so I could be told in person.  For that, I’m thankful.  This wasn’t personal.  They just decided to go in a different direction.  It happens.  Part of the business. As I was reminded during the meeting, I still have lots of friends in the Blue Jackets organization.  That is true.

I’m grateful for the opportunity to have had a chance to hold one of only 30 such jobs in the NHL.  It was a fun ride.  Any experience in life, good or bad, is a learning experience. Looking back, are there some things I would have handled differently or done better?  Absolutely.  While I won’t have the chance to do that in that realm, it  does not take from the fact that it was a pleasure to work for the Blue Jackets Radio Network.  Everybody there is a true pro and good at what they do.  I wish them (and the team) good luck in the future.  I’ll still be a fan.  Even though Daddy doesn’t work for them anymore, the Blue Jackets are still my four-year old daughter’s favorite team.  So I’ve got that going for me.  Which is nice.

What’s next?  Who knows.  As the saying goes, when one door closes, another one opens.  I can’t wait to come up to that door so I can barrel through it.

Leave a Reply

