Nine-game Big Ten Football Schedules Announced

B1G LogoThe Big Ten Conference today announced the 2016 and 2017 conference football schedules. The first nine-game schedule since 1984.  East Division teams (Ohio State, Michigan, Michigan State, Penn State, Indiana, Maryland, and Rutgers) will have five home Big Ten games in even-numbered years.  West Division teams (Purdue, Illinois, Northwestern, Wisconsin, Minnesota, Iowa, and Nebraska) will have five home Big Ten games in odd-numbered years.

In 2016, Ohio State will play its nine Big Ten games in consecutive weeks, without a bye.  West Division teams Illinois, Iowa, Nebraska, and Northwestern are not on the Buckeyes schedule.  Ohio State opens up the 2017 season on September 2 at Indiana.  Interesting on a couple of fronts.  First, it will mark the first time the Buckeyes open up a season against a Big Ten opponent since 1976 against Michigan State.  Second, it will also Ohio State’s first season opener on the road since 1998 at West Virginia.  The Buckeyes do not have West Division teams Minnesota, Northwestern, Purdue, and Wisconsin on their schedule.

Here are the complete Big Ten Football schedules for the 2016 and 2017.

2016 Big Ten Football Schedule

2017 Big Ten Football Schedule

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out / Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out / Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out / Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out / Change )

Connecting to %s