R.I.P. Legends & Leaders

The Big Ten Conference announced today football division alignments in 2014 when Maryland and Rutgers join, along with a nine-game conference schedule starting in 2016.  The alignments and division names are actually based on (gasp!), geography.  Good job, good effort.

Big Ten East                   Big Ten West

Indiana                                 Illinois

Maryland                             Iowa

Michigan                              Minnesota

Michigan State                  Nebraska

Ohio State                           Northwestern

Penn State                          Purdue

Rutgers                                Wisconsin

All teams in the East are in the Eastern Time Zone.  All teams in the West, except Purdue, are in the Central Time Zone. Each school will play the other six schools in its division plus two teams from the other division in 2014 and 2015, which will serve as transitional years in which the schools will still be playing eight-game schedules. Beginning in 2016, each school will play three teams from the other division as part of its nine-game schedule. The cross-division games will include one protected matchup on an annual basis between Indiana and Purdue.

You can read the official release from the Big Ten Conference here.

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out / Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out / Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out / Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out / Change )

Connecting to %s